Regulatory Bodies

The table below outlines the main regulatory bodies within the Australian National Energy Market:

Stakeholder Description Mentions
The Australian Energy Market Commission was set up in 2005 by the Council of Australian Governments. The AEMC acts as a rule maker within the national energy markets but also provides advice to ministers on how to best develop energy markets over time.
The Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) manages and plans Australia’s National Electricity Market (NEM) and the Victorian gas transmission network.  


The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) regulates energy markets and networks under national energy market legislation and rules.  


Government departments are also responsible for funding and legislation within the energy market:

Stakeholder Description Mentions
Department of Industry
The Department of Industry and Science is the department of the Australian federal Government responsible for consolidating the Government’s efforts to drive economic growth, productivity and competitiveness by bringing together industry, energy, resources, science and skills. The current Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science is Christopher Pyne.